Skip to content


Dive into the Blue Planets Series!

Dive into the Blue Planets Series!


Jake Rose’s world is exploding–literally. Half human and half alien, Jake lives on the planet Rison with his mother, which is due to implode. Risionians need water to live in, and Earth has just that. After arriving on Earth, Jake stays with his human father’s parents. After discovering that the Earth’s elites have a plot against the Risonians, will he be able to stop them and aid in the survival of his species? Through Pattison’s skillful writing, a story of thrilling action and characters comes to life. Click on the picture above to view the series page!


Enjoy Envoys, the FREE short story that introduces the Blue Planets Series!

Envoys - free short story

Looking for a summer read? You’ve found one! The first novel in an action-packed sci-fi trilogy, you’ll find this to be a book you just can’t put down! Follow Jake’s rush of an adventure as he navigates a new culture and a new world, all while trying to stop the evil plans of the elites of Earth! This makes for a perfect beach or poolside read this summer.

This might be a middle grade sci-fi novel, but don’t think it’s limited to that audience! Readers of any age can pick up this book and find enjoyment between the characters, dialogue, and the unique world building that Pattison presents in this novel.

The big theme of this sci-fi novel series is: When faced with others who differ from us and asking for our help, what will we do? And this book series does exactly that. When humanity receives its first transmission of space, will they open the oceans of their planets to the incoming visitors? Will Jake successfully be able to secure a home for his fellow Risonians?

Pattison delights and entices readers in the first book of this trilogy.


Do you believe in Sirens? What about mermaids? In the first book, the Risonian’s original message was one simple sentence. “You only live on land. Allow us to live in the seas.” But Earth’s seas aren’t as vacant as once thought. The Mer people that live in the oceans–now called Phoke–have hidden in the seas and have now revealed themselves. The negotiations for the Risionians to take refuge in the seas of planet Earth have complicated even more. With these new challenges present at the table, will Jake and his girlfriend, Em, be able to clear the political water between the Risionians and the Phoke?

As the sequel to the first book in the series, Pattison continues the thrilling storyline of the Risionians’ fight for survival. 

Throughout this series, you’ll find plenty of opportunity for SEL centered conversations on topics such as friendships, resilience, and more. This book is more than an underwater adventure. In between the thrills and character driven plot, you’ll find plenty of emotional aspects as well, such as the development of character and overcoming challenges you’ve never imagined facing.


In order to save the day, Jake has to go to places he’s never been to. Will he go? And will he survive?

In the nail biting conclusion of this trilogy, Jake returns to Rison with the Eagle 10 crew. The mission? Find the Umjaadi starfish–the host of an organism that’s deadly to the water people of Eath, the Phoke.

Even though Rison’s implosion is mere days away, the team persists against the odds. Met with the struggles of local politics and a narrow deadline, it’s a race against the end to find the starfish. 


The adventure and action ramp up in this sci-fi novel, bringing this explosive series to an end. What will happen to Jake and the Eagle 10 crew as they navigate the stars and the ocean of their dying home planet?

Older Post
Newer Post

Leave a comment

Read More

Reading Mims House Books on Apps

Dec 5, 2023

Reading Mims House Books on Apps

Mims House cooperates with two reading apps to provide access to our full catalog of books. 3 Reasons Kids Read on a...
2024 Award-Winning Books

Nov 30, 2023

2024 Award-Winning Books

Mims House is thrilled to have two award-winning books this season.  The Eureka! NonFiction Book Award  The Californi...

About Darcy Pattison

Children’s book author and indie publisher DARCY PATTISON writes award-winning fiction and non-fiction books for children. Five books have received starred PW, Kirkus, or BCCB reviews. Awards include the Irma Black Honor award, five NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books, two Eureka! Nonfiction Honor book, two Junior Library Guild selections, two NCTE Notable Children’s Book in Language Arts, a Notable Social Studies Trade Book, an Arkansiana Award, and the Susannah DeBlack Arkansas Children’s History Book
award. She’s the 2007 recipient of the Arkansas Governor’s Arts Award for Individual Artist for her work in children’s literature. Her books have been translated into ten languages.

Added to cart